The Citizens Democratic Party
P.O.Box 37277
Lusaka, Zambia.
Tel: +260-955-600674
CDP Civic Center
"Putting People First"
Educating our citizens
An idea, unlike a genetic trait, has to be
taught in order to sustain its continuity.
Democracy and its values is such an
idea that has to be taught in form of civic
education from generation to generation
for it to work and achieve that continuity.
It is important therefore, that our citizenry
is continuously enlightened in civic
matters to in order to effectively
contribute to the governance of our
Putting Civic Matters First
Government>>what you need to know

Conventional short form:                 Zambia

Former:                                                Northern Rhodesia

Government type:                              Republic

Capital: name:                                    Lusaka

Geographic coordinates:                15 25 S, 28 17 E

Time difference:                                UTC+2 (7 hours ahead of Washington, DC during Standard Time)

Administrative divisions:                 Zambia is divided into nine provinces, each administered by an appointed deputy minister. Each
province is subdivided into several districts with a grand total of 72 districts.
The 9 provinces are; Central, Copperbelt, Eastern, Luapula, Lusaka, Northern, North-Western, Southern, Western

Independence:                                   24 October 1964 (from UK)

National holiday:                                Independence Day, 24 October (1964)

Constitution:                                       24 August 1991; amended in 1996 to establish presidential term limit

Legal system:                                     Based on English common law and customary law; judicial review of legislative acts in an ad hoc
constitutional council; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction.

Suffrage:                                              18 years of age; universal

Executive branch: Chief of state:     President Rupiah Banda

Cabinet:                                                 Cabinet appointed by the president from among the members of the National  Assembly.

Elections:                                              President elected by popular vote for a five-year term (eligible for a second term); election last held
28 September 2006 (next to be held in 2011).
Vice president appointed by the president.

Legislative branch:                              Unicameral National Assembly (158 seats; 150 members are elected by popular vote, 8 members
are appointed by the president, to serve five-year terms). Next to be held in 2011.

Judicial branch:                                    Supreme Court (the final court of appeal; justices are appointed by the president); High Court (has
unlimited jurisdiction to hear civil and criminal cases)
"Putting People First"